From the News Edge: Logging practices debated during LBL meeting ---- Radford honored with leadership award ---- Everett remembered during memorial service ---- Magistrate meet and greet coming up ---- Lane restriction Saturday on Eggners Ferry Bridge ---- For these stories and more, be sure to visit our News Pages.

WKDZ 106.5 FM Blog


No Shave November Winner

Casey James and his band raised over $13,500 for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital in the No Shave November competition. James' team led most of the month and was named Most Valuable Beard by St. Jude. Click here to watch him shave it off onstage in Shreveport, LA, this past weekend.

Grammy nominations were announced last night during a concert in Nashville - here is the complete list.

Best Country Album
"Uncaged" by Zac Brown Band; "Hunter Hayes" by Hunter Hayes; "Living For A Song: A Tribute To Hank Cochran" by Jamey Johnson; "Four The Record" by Miranda Lambert; and "The Time Jumpers" by the Time Jumpers.

Best Americana Album
"The Carpenter" by the Avett Brothers; "From The Ground Up" by John Fullbright; "The Lumineers" by the Lumineers; "Babel" by Mumford & Sons; and "Slipstream" by Bonnie Raitt.

Best Country Solo Performance:
Home - Dierks Bentley; Springsteen, - Eric Church; Cost of Livin' - Ronnie Dunn; Wanted - Wade Hayes; Over - Blake Shelton and Blown Away - Carrie Underwood.

Best Country Duo/Group Performance
Even If It Breaks Your Heart - Eli Young Band; Pontoon - Little Big Town; Safe & Sound - Taylor Swift and The Civil Wars; On the Outskirts of Town - The Time Jumpers; I Just Come Here for the Music - Don Williams featuring Alison Krauss.

Best Country Song
Blown Away - Josh Kear & Chris Tompkins, songwriters (Carrie Underwood); Cost Of Livin' - Phillip Coleman & Ronnie Dunn, songwriters (Ronnie Dunn); Even If It Breaks Your Heart - Will Hoge & Eric Paslay, songwriters (Eli Young Band); So You Don't Have To Love Me Anymore - Jay Knowles & Adam Wright, songwriters (Alan Jackson); and Springsteen - Eric Church, Jeff Hyde & Ryan Tyndell, songwriters (Eric Church).

Best Bluegrass Album
"The Gospel Side Of Dailey & Vincent" - Dailey & Vincent; "Life Finds A Way" - The Grascals; "Beat The Devil And Carry A Rail" - Noam Pikelny; "Scratch Gravel Road" - Special Consensus; and "Nobody Knows You" - Steep Canyon Rangers

Best Folk Album
"Leaving Eden" - Carolina Chocolate Drops; "Election Special" - Ry Cooder; "Hambone's Meditations" - Luther Dickinson; "The Goat Rodeo Sessions" - Yo Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile; "This One's For Him: A Tribute To Guy Clark" - Various Artists (Shawn Camp & Tamara Saviano, producers)

Best Song Written For Visual Media
Nominees include Safe & Sound - Taylor Swift and The Civil Wars. The song was from "The Hunger Games."

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical
Nominees include: "The Goat Rodeo Sessions" - Richard King, engineer; Richard King, mastering engineer (Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile).

Best Long Form Music Video
Nominees include "Big Easy Express" - Mumford & Sons, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros & Old Crow Medicine Show; Emmett Malloy, video director; Bryan Ling, Mike Luba & Tim Lynch, video producers.

Tags :  
Topics : Entertainment_Culture
Social :
Locations : Big TownCadizCadiz - Trigg CountyLouisianaNashvilleShreveportWkdz Radio
People : Adam WrightAlan JacksonAlison KraussBlake SheltonBonnie RaittBryan LingCarrie UnderwoodCasey JamesChris ThileChris TompkinsDierks BentleyDon WilliamsEdgar MeyerEdward SharpeEmmett MalloyEric PaslayGuy ClarkHank CochranJay KnowlesJeff HydeJosh KearMike LubaPhillip ColemanRichard KingRonnie DunnRyan TyndellShawn CampStuart DuncanTamara SavianoTim LynchWade HayesWill HogeYo-Yo Ma

12/06/2012 10:58AM
No Shave November Winner
Please Enter Your Comments Below
Title :
Comment :